Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal A. Collins MaryGail K. Douglas William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Robert L. Ridgeway, III Bill Taylor John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Bruce W. Bannister Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Tommy M. Stringer Edward R. Tallon, Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Education and Cultural Subcommittee

Tuesday, June 5, 2018 Room 108 Blatt Building

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Education and Cultural Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chairman Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr., Tuesday, June 5, 2018, in Room 108 of the Blatt Building. All members were present for some or all of the meeting except Representative Tommy M. Stringer.

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meeting.

II. Representative Joseph H. Jefferson moves to approve the minutes from the Subcommittee's meeting on April 5, 2018. A roll call vote is held, and the motions pass.

Representative Jefferson's motion to approve the minutes from the April 5, 2018, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Chandra E. Dillard	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Tommy Stringer				✓
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV	✓			

Discussion of Educational Television Commission (SCETV)

- I. Chairman Jefferson calls the meeting to order and states that this is the subcommittee's first meeting with John de la Howe School. Further, he explains the purpose of today's meeting is receive an overview of SCETV.
- II. Chairman Jefferson swears in SCETV President and CEO Anthony Padgett. Mr. Padgett introduces the remaining SCETV staff members present at the meeting Bobbi Kennedy (Special Projects Director); Mark Jahnke (Vice President Engineering & Technology); Tracey Hunt (Director of Finance and Procurement); and Dean Byrd (Director of Education).
- III. Mr. Padgett provides testimony on SCETV's history, legal directives, organizational structure, products and services.
- IV. Different subcommittee members ask questions, which Mr. Padgett and other agency representatives answer. Question topics include, but are not limited to:
 - a. Audience size
 - b. Carry forward funds
 - c. Spectrum auction and distribution of funds
 - d. Rural broadband and technology access
 - e. Feedback on educational programming
 - f. Other entities that could provide the same service
 - g. Marketing
 - h. Hiring
 - i. Evaluation of programming
 - j. Employee performance evaluations
 - k. Relationship with SCETV endowment

V. Representative Jay West makes a motion that SCETV develop a plan to receive employee and customer feedback that can be used for strategic planning and evaluation. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Rep. West, IV, moves that a recommendation be included in the Subcommittee report for SCETV develop a plan to receive employee and customer feedback that can be used for strategic planning and evaluation.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Chandra E. Dillard	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Tommy Stringer				✓
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV	✓			

VI. Representative Chandra Dillard makes a motion that SCETV develop or revamp its marketing/communication plan and create a strategy around it. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Rep. Chandra Dillard moves the				
Subcommittee study include a			Not	Not
recommendation that SCETV develop or	Yea	Nay	Voting:	Voting:
revamp its marketing/communication plan			Present	Absent
and create a strategy around it.				
Chandra E. Dillard	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Tommy Stringer				✓
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV	✓			

Adjournment

I. There being no further business the meeting is adjourned.